Portfolio Update – Up 0.02% in January 2014

My portfolio balances at close of trading on 31st January were:

Ticker

Price (C$)

Price Change

Percentage

Industry

DII-B.TO $ 40.30

-0.10%

9.1%

Consumer Cyclical, Home Furnishing
JPM $ 61.62 n/a

9.8%

Finance, Insurance – Property and Casualty
CCA.TO $ 50.51

5.43%

9.1%

Consumer Cyclical, Broadcasting
LB.TO $ 45.60

-2.79%

8.9%

Finance, Financial Services – Diversified
BRK-B $ 124.17

-1.36%

9.5%

Finance, Insurance – Property and Casualty
Cash

53.6%

Cash
Total

100.0%

Overall my portfolio is up 0.02% since last month. There were no cash contributions. For comparison my TI Index is down 0.45%, the DOW is down 5.30% and the TSX is up 0.54%.

The Canadian dollar has slipped almost 5% compared with the US Dollar this month, which elevated the relative value of my US stocks (Berkshire Hathaway and JP Morgan).  This helped preserve my equity as US stocks slipped down 5%.

My investments are up and performed well against the TI Index and DOW, but poorly against the TSX.

The winner this month was Cogeco (CCA.TO) which is up 5.43%.  It also paid a 30c dividend during the month, which is a further 0.6% gain.  I bought Cogeco only a month ago so I’m gratified with this performance.

The loser was Laurentian Bank (LB.TO) down 2.79%.

I am still carry a lot of cash, pending transfer.

Screen Shot 2014-02-09 at 9.47.35 AM

3 thoughts on “Portfolio Update – Up 0.02% in January 2014

    • I only have such a large portion of cash because I’m in the process of transferring some funds between accounts. In fact, the transfer is complete and I have placed orders for two bond ETFs (CHB.TO and XBB.TO), which will put most of my cash back to work.

  1. Oh and I should add that I only invest in the TSX. The CDN market may be tiny but it’s a market I know really really well, and a market I’ve traded in very profitably. I find the US simply too big, hard to know where to begin.

Leave a Reply

