Out of Brookfield, Into Winpak

Earlier this month I bought three stocks that are highly recommended (A-rated) by Peter Hodson of 5i.  Two of these stocks have done well but one, Brookfield Renewable Energy Partners (BEP-UN.TO) has done poorly.  It was down over 6% at one point.  Normally I would sell a speculative stock that was down 5% or more (i.e., stop loss) but I neglected to set alerts for BEP.  Today BEP was up 2% so I took the opportunity to sell it for a 4.5% loss.  My other speculative stocks are up so I am not too distraught about this one.

I might have made a mistake when I bought Hodson’s A-rated picks.  Some of his recommendations are months old.  Perhaps I should have gone with the three stocks he recommended on BNN recently.  Accordingly I am taking the funds from the BEP sale and putting them into Winpak (WPK.TO), which dipped today.

  • Sell BEP-UN.TO @ $29.92
  • Buy WPK.TO @ $19.35
One thought on “Out of Brookfield, Into Winpak

Leave a Reply

