Portfolio Update – Up 1.07% in June 2012

My portfolio balances at close of trading on 29th June were:

Ticker Price (C$) Price Change Percentage Industry
T.TO $ 61.14 1.70% 6.1% Telecommunications
COS.TO $ 19.72 -1.84% 6.6% Energy
PHY-U.TO $ 14.05 2.39% 5.5% Gold
POW.TO $ 23.92 4.36% 4.1% Financials
SJR-B.TO $ 19.24 -2.58% 0.0% Consumer Discretionary
TA.TO $ 17.25 2.37% 8.1% Utilities
AAPL $ 594.04 -0.47% 5.4% Information Technology
S&P Fund $ 117.79 3.92% 19.7% US Equity Fund
Bond Fund $ 222.08 0.28% 25.1% Bond Fund
Cash 19.5% Cash
Total 100.0%

Overall my portfolio is up 1.76% since last month, including cash contributions. Without these cash contributions the portfolio would be up 1.07%. For comparison my TI Index is up 1.36%, the DOW is up 3.93% and the TSX is up 0.72%.

My investments have done OK; lower than the TI Index, which has more US exposure, and better than the TSX.  Winners this month include Power Corp (POW.TO).  Losers include Shaw (SJR-B.TO), which I happily sold during the month.

My bond holdings are at 25.1%, which is acceptably close to my target of 25%. No rebalancing is required this month.

My cash is at 19.5%, which is lower than my target of 25%.  I am OK with this level of cash and I still expect to put most of this cash to work after the summer.

2 thoughts on “Portfolio Update – Up 1.07% in June 2012

  1. canadianmdinvestor says:

    Is this account registered or non-registered?

    What is your bond holding and why? Just curious….

    • Hi MD. My portfolio is actually a combination of several accounts: all are registered. The bond component is a BlackRock fund that was one of the few choices offered in a past employer’s RSP. The S&P fund is also one of BlackRock’s offerings. I’d prefer not to use these funds but my employer offered contribution matching (free money). I have left that firm and plan to cash these funds out this month. I’ll use the funds from the S&P fund to buy stocks (not sure what yet) and the funds from the Bond fund to buy bonds or a bond ETF. My financial adviser favours buying individual corporate and government bonds. I lean towards bond ETFs that hold a range of bonds like XBB.TO. I expect to make these trades later this month.

Leave a Reply

