Sell in May and Run Away!

The first half of this month has been terrible: sell in May and run away!  The Dow (^DJI) is down 5% and the TSX (^GSPTSE) is down a whopping 8% in only 13 days of trading.

My portfolio has fared quite well.  It is down only 1.4% at this point.  I owe my capital preservation to my bonds (up 1%) and my well chosen stocks.

I sold Apple (AAPL) and Enerplus (ERF.TO) last month.  They are down 12% and 22% respectively since I sold them.  Those might be the best two trades I have made yet, netting me an avoided loss of an average of 17% in just a month!  I will do a more detailed analysis of winners and losers at the end of the month.

Image

Leave a Reply

